First Week of Half Marathon Training

This week I registered for the half marathon I’ve been eyeing for the last month or so. I may have gotten a little nervous when I saw the participant limit and dropped everything to officially enter.
I’m following the Hal Higdon Novice 2 Plan, but I did start a week early. I know I’ll feel better on race day if I’ve run 13.1 miles before stepping onto the course and by giving myself an extra week I’ll be able to do just that.
I felt great running but I know I haven’t been stretching and icing my ankle as much as I really should be. Today after my “long” run (I mean, 4 miles isn’t that long) I spent a while stretching and rolled out too. My foam roller and I have a big love/hate relationship. For me, waiting 20-30 minutes after I run is the best time for me to stretch.  By then I don’t feel super sweaty, I’ve had a snack, and gotten to rest a little.
Well, so far, so good. We’ll see how this goes!

I think that by giving myself a bigger goal to work toward I’ll be more motivated to run.

Do you make goals for yourself?

Leave a Reply

