Natural Food Store Haul

While in town today I picked up a couple groceries/snacks at the health food store. The health food store I go to is small, maybe 300 square feet in the grocery section (there’s an adjoining café), but the shelves are always packed and are crazy tall. I’d say they make pretty good use of the space they have.

The goods.
While usually I just opt for the dried fruit and maybe a couple of bars, I decided to try some new things today! Here’s the rundown:
  • Stretch Island Fruit Company Fruit Leathers: Alright, we’ve all seen these. I got these in 3 flavors, apricot, raspberry, and strawberry. I’ve been loving fruit leathers since the first time I convinced my mom to buy them for me. So delicious and so satisfying. I love how punchy and bright the flavors in these are. For such a tiny (.5 oz) portion, they pack a lot of flavor.
  • Koyo Asian Vegetable Ramen: I’ve never seen this brand before and I’ll admit, I thought I saw ginger somewhere on the label. Whoops. Having something quick like instant noodles is nice for nights when I’m really not feeling DHall food. I’m definitely interested to see how many vegetables there are in the end result. Usually you think there are going to be way more than there actually are and it’s a little bit of a letdown.
  • Thai Kitchen Thai Ginger Rice Noodle Soup: Am I the only one that’s crazy obsessed with ginger? I’m super excited to try this because 1) ginger and 2) rice noodles instead of ramen noodles. The only thing that could be disappointing about these noodles is that there are no vegetables on the ingredient list. I’m hoping the broth will be flavorful enough.
  • Surf Sweets Sour Worms: Let’s be real, I’m a huge fan of candy and sour anything. These look like they’re going to have a little more bite and less chew that your run-of-the-mill sour gummy worms. I’m ok with that. I’m also ok with these tasting more like real fruit and less like “neon” that the big brands promise.
  • Sunspire Peanut Sundrops: From what I can tell these are basically the all natural version of peanut m&ms. I’m hoping for a chocolate that’s a little bit higher in quality than m&ms but maintaing the crunch of the candy shell.
While I bought snacks, dinners, and treats that should last well over a week (hey I have an unlimited meal plan what can I say), in total I spent just over $10. I’d say that’s a bargain. The most expensive item I bought were the Surf Sweets sour worms. I’ll definitely get back to you with reviews of both instant noodles and the candies! Stay tuned!
Leave a Reply

