Wrecked Week

I’ll be real. This post is going to be short for 2 reasons.

1. I want to be in bed in 29 minutes thanks to a VERY busy weekend.

And 2. I don’t actually have too many runs to write about but I guess that’s what I want to talk about.

This past 1.5 weeks have been crazy. I’ve had 3 papers due, lots of reading, quizzes, and went away this past weekend (not vacation, every minute had a purpose).

 Image

Lots of this.

Image

Not nearly enough of this.

I knew running would be important this past week. So, when the week began I decided I would front-load the miles to make up for the lost distance over the weekend. My body had other plans.

Instead of a 3 mile run on Tuesday I ran 2.25 because I was nervous about timing for classes and work, (which probably caused this next one) I went out way too fast, and because my legs started hurting. It felt like my legs were made of lead. So heavy and barely moving. Not optimal.

And then Wednesday I had planned an afternoon 5-miler. Then I realized I couldn’t take the extra 30 minutes out of my essay-writing time and settled for 3 miles. But then my legs felt EVEN WORSE than the day before. While I was pissed everything culminated in me cutting my run down to 1.3 miles and being mad about it.

And on Thursday I decided not to run. I realized that the trouble running might be a sign that I think my body needed a break after last weekend’s total of 9 miles (more than I’ve done over 48 hours in a little while). I figured I could use the extra time to work on my essays or pack or one of the other things that was just sitting on my to-do list.

Image

I did see this which has to count for something? right?

So that was my week in running. A meager 3.55 miles. I’ll take what I can get though and hope to be back on track this week with some quality (enjoyable) miles and some stretching to stop the legs-like-lead feeling that destroys any confidence I have in my running. Hopefully I’ll be back to weeks with something closer to 16-18 miles next week. Gotta keep on top of my goals.

So that’s it for now! Talk to you soon! I promise!

Screen shot 2013-09-07 at 9.13.04 PM

One thought on “Wrecked Week

  1. Sorry the week fell apart. I know what that heavy feeling is like in your legs. It’s not good. Love to read your blog. Love you lots, Grandma and Papa

Leave a Reply

