Ideal Conditions

As most of you could have guess, I had a long run this weekend. 8 miles to be exact. Friday night I did everything I usually do (when I’m organized or nervous about a run, which often is one in the same).

IMG_2047

It was pretty dark when I woke up with the sun just lighting up the tops of buildings and trees and everything else was DARK. but the sky was so clear. Pretty gorgeous weather.

And come Saturday morning I was out the door before I realized what I was planning on doing. This would be the first time I ate shot blocks since my half marathon.

As soon as I got onto the route I was excited. I knew I had to pace myself but, oh man, my legs felt FRESH. The weather was perfect, cool but not cold. The perfect fall run. I was happy to be out there. I suppose this is one of those times when no news is good news because it was a pretty uneventful, but perfect, run. The only vaguely interesting things that happened was the presence of a huge high school cross country event that people were arriving to and I filled up my water from spring water and found a bathroom at about 4.25 miles.

I tried to focus on running while I was eating my fuel instead of walking like I did during my training and half marathon. I want to be faster and that seems more and more like a silly way to waste time. I really only walked while I was trying to get the shot blocks unstuck from one another and for the first couple of chews so I wouldn’t choke. I’m hoping to get used to the feeling of eating while I run and eliminate even that walking time in the future.

IMG_2052

Saturday: 8.00 miles for 1:26:24

Sunday morning I woke up and noticed that a really weird part of my right ankle/calf hurt. I was nervous about it all day and decided to try to ice it.

IMG_2064

I mostly missed the spot but A+ for trying Tess. A+.

I asked my friend who is pre-med for specialized orthopedics to look at it and she immediately said it was just a muscle thing and then I realized that I probably overstretched it when I started using her proflex heal stretcher and DID NOT FEEL ANYTHING IN MY RIGHT ANKLE/CALF. So it was pretty obvious that I had overstretched it. Which is ok. We’re fine. And now I’m feeling grand. No big deal!

BUT TESS! WHY WOULD YOU RUN 8 MILES THE WEEKEND BEFORE YOU HAVE A 10K AND A 5K? Well reader, because I’m crazy. And I wouldn’t have it any other way. I understand that resting hasn’t really existed for this upcoming weekend, but I’m not too worried considering that I ran the same distance (3.1 miles of it was raced) a couple weeks ago. I’m not too nervous. I’m also not too worried about times because I know that they’re not going to be great anyways. Some of the 10k is on a trail and I’m really just a road/sidewalk runner. I’m not expecting great things from this weekend except for the fact that I’m doing two races and that I’ll get a total of 9.3 miles out of it.

IMG_2051

This is the kind of run that makes me love the sport. I can’t get enough and it just makes me want to run more. It’s so important for me to remember that this is why I do this. Runs like this make all the crappy, horrible days, when my body just does not want to work with me, worth it. It probably sounds cliche but these are the kind of runs that I run for.

Screen shot 2013-09-07 at 9.13.04 PM

2 thoughts on “Ideal Conditions

  1. I have no idea where you’re running, but I’m so jealous! hehe It looks like a gorgeous area to run! Textbook autumn colors and crunchy leaves underfoot…looks like an amazing run (aside from the overstretching part!) Ouch! In other news, I nominated you for the Versatile Blogger Award. I’ve really enjoyed reading your latest posts and I hope you’ll accept this award! Here’s the link nominating you: http://hodgepodgepilotswife.wordpress.com/2013/10/16/the-versatile-blogger-award/

  2. Pingback: Great Pumpkin Challenge | Go.Tess.Go

Leave a Reply

