Celebration Weekend 5k

Whoops. Sorry for the delay on this recap. I’ve just been…busy? Am I always busy? Yup. Has this week has it been especially crazy? Of course. Does each week feel busier than the last? Obviously.

Enough of the excuses, let’s talk about running. Specifically the Celebration Weekend 5k I ran last Sunday with two of my friends. This race was actually starting about, eh, 300 feet from the main door to my dorm. So I didn’t have to worry about transportation or meeting people or getting there with time to park. I literally could have rolled out of bed and got my number. But instead I woke up at 7:30 (which is officially considered sleeping in for me) and tried to get some stuff done before my race (spoiler alert I wasn’t successful in getting anything done).

Image

I wore my tech shirt form the race on Saturday. Someone else was too and I felt like we were in a super secret awesome club. Also I’m not that tall and have no idea why I look so tall here. 

My friends and I had decided we would all run by ourselves because suddenly I really wanted to push myself after the 10k on Saturday. I wanted to see what my body could do when it was tired and what would happen if I really tried. But then we heard the directions and we decided to stick together. Until the first hill. Because apparently I sprint up hills now? Where did this love of hills come from? Because I really don’t know. Someone please tell me.

I realized that I was ahead of them too late. At that point I knew that it didn’t make sense to stop and wait for them because I would be nervous they would feel like I was nagging on them and I’m sure that they would feel bad that I would be “holding myself back.” So off I went, running the flats and sprinting the hills. Nothing really exciting happened except that I didn’t stick to the plan.

Afterwards I was really excited because my time was the fastest 5k since I was injured last June and therefore faster than my last two 5ks (found here and here) and it seemed hillier. I’ll take it. It does make me wonder what my time could be if I really pushed myself in a normal 5k at this point. my times have been decreasing all fall and I’m excited to do more races and keep getting better times.

Celebration 5k: 29:45 

But see, the exciting part of the race didn’t come until about 1 banana, a quarter of a bagel, some peanut butter, and 10 minutes later. As my friends and I were walking towards our dorms I challenged them something that have been wanting to do for about as long as I’ve been racing. Run another mile right after you finish. And they said yes. Apparently my friends are just as crazy as I am?

Image

Whoever decorated this house just might be crazy though.

Instead of huffing and puffing during this mile we were talking and giggling which is my favorite ways to run when I’m with other people. And 10 minutes later we were done! WEEE! Challenge: beaten.

I don’t know if anyone else is noticing a theme in my recaps but what I’m picking up is that racing just gets me more and more excited about running. All I want to do is keep running an get faster and stronger and better. Racing, thanks for being my motivation. You’re the best.

Screen shot 2013-09-07 at 9.13.04 PM

Leave a Reply

