OUC Half Marathon Recap

Wee! which is to say I finished! This half wasn’t my best, and it wasn’t my worst. So I’m solidly happy. Going into it knowing what I did about my training (which I talked about a lot right here) I’m happy I finished.

I’m happy my parents came to see me run and I’m happy they cheered me on and didn’t once complain about waking up at 4:45 to be at the race. I made them biscuits to soften the blow of waking up so early. Also my parents watched other runners throw up, keep running, and be cheered on (whoever you are, you’re rad). Basically I have awesome parents and am very very happy to have had them there and spent the weekend with them.

1240397_10203201695154403_7690976847476947043_n

My mom even lets me prop my legs up on her while my dad takes pictures. What more could you ask for?

Running wise, nothing crazy happened. The real curveball here was that the course was about 50% brick which I found out while I was in line for the porta-potties 5 minutes before the race started (poor timing, but it cut down my pre-race nerves that usually happen while I’m standing waiting for the gun).

IMG_0086

I will say this, I was definitely not “racing.” I don’t think I’ve ever really managed to do that with a half (yet). More than anything I think it’s always been a get to the finish as quickly as I comfortably can. But when Ido 5ks it’s more of a “get to the finish as quickly as you can, don’t mind that you can’t breathe, damn the torpedos, full speed ahead” mindset.

So this race was similar to the others, nothing crazy, the course was boring (hello Orlando) and the first hour or so of the race was muggier than I wanted.

IMG_0089

Final words about the OUC half: happy I did it, not happy (or unhappy) with my time but not surprised, very very happy with the medal.

Official time: 2:40:36

IMG_0091

(and hell yeah you know I wore that into EPCOT and out to dinner)

Screen shot 2013-09-07 at 9.13.04 PM

Leave a Reply

