The Question of Rest

About 8 weeks ago I posted this picture on instagram.

Rest? No, thanks.

A photo posted by Tessa Jane Kalinosky (@gotjkgo) on Nov 11, 2014 at 5:20am PST

 

And fittingly I haven’t really rested since then. Between finishing up with the OUC half marathon, working 6 days most weeks, and spending any day off I have in a theme park.

Quick visit to the most magical of kingdoms! #DisneySide

A photo posted by Tessa Jane Kalinosky (@gotjkgo) on Dec 12, 2014 at 8:48am PST

A week after my half I was just getting ready to get back in the game and start heading out for a longer run again when I started to get sick. Nothing crazy, just a cold and sore throat. Refusing to take time off from work, I slowed down my running a bit and figured it would just be a longer recovery, no harm done. But fast forward to Christmas Eve and imagine me at the bell desk starting to waver while my vision was going black. I hadn’t felt good all day but was trying to make it through and ended up not being able to. I got myself home after getting out of work 4 hours early and after a call to my mom I drove to urgent care.

MERRY CHRISTMAS FROM URGENT CARE.

A photo posted by Tessa Jane Kalinosky (@gotjkgo) on Dec 12, 2014 at 4:12pm PST

Apparently I have a upper respiratory infection and had a fever. I was told to take off on christmas and instead of working I sat on the couch for hours on end watching Love Actually and a ton of episodes of Freaks and Geeks. Not an awful christmas but also not a great one.

The moral of the story I guess is that I do indeed need to rest, especially if I’m sick. and maybe 6 days a week is too much for work. So that’s something I need to work on.

Screen shot 2013-09-07 at 9.13.04 PM

Leave a Reply

